ART JOURNEY ( AS A JUVENILE )

Well now I’m in Junior high, what a transition this was, lots more to choose from here as it was a public school setting. Here I had cooking class, woodshop, sports, knitting,  yes this was in the seventies, poetry class. No art at least not that year. I took up woodshop. To my amazement,  I liked it, I was good at it, accident prone as I was , I was in the nurses office for scratches and things lol. I created wood birds. Needless to say the class was mostly full of boys. I was still craving painting drawing. At home after homework I read lots of comic books , in the back there were these art ads, sketch this cartoon send it in, and you would get notified if you had any art skills. I did that often, every time, I would receive mail notifying me I was an artist and had potential and they referred me to a nearby school of arts. Unfortunately most people told me not to pay attention,  it was a scam. I suppose it could have been, after all it was in the back of a comic book. I stayed in woodshop for a year creating wood figures. I bought a sketch pad and sketched my own designs at home. I wished I would have saved them.

Iris Fletcher ABSTACT MY WAY

Posted in art

Leave a comment